Additional Menu

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Contact Information
Institutional Review Board

Michele Yurecko, Ph.D.
Santa Rita Hall 406
Morristown, NJ 07960-6989

Phone: (973) 290-4036

Institutional Review Board

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Please be advised:
Due to COVID-19, the SEU IRB has moved to a fully online review. All IRB reviews will take place remotely. Submission due dates will remain the same for all research applications. Student and faculty researchers are encouraged to contact Dr. Michele Yurecko, IRB Chair, with any questions at

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) was established to ensure that research conducted by faculty, students and staff promotes SEU's commitment to honor the intrinsic worth of all individuals. Following federal guidelines, the IRB reviews proposals to assess the potential risks of participating in a research study and the degree to which individuals freely consent to participate. The IRB also considers researchers' safeguards to preserve participants' confidentiality.

The IRB meets monthly during the fall and spring semesters. Summer meetings are scheduled as needed. Faculty interested in having timely reviews of student proposals are invited to contact the Chair to make arrangements.

Important Dates

Researchers must use the IRB Submission Form and appropriate Consent Forms and submit to

Student researchers must also submit a memo or email acknowledgement from the faculty advisor approving submission of the IRB application.

IRB Meeting Dates and Application Due Dates

Spring 2021

  • January 25 (proposals due January 15)
  • February 22 (proposals due February 12)
  • March 22 (proposals due March 12)
  • April 26 (proposals due April 16)
  • May 24 (proposals due May 14)

During the summer, the IRB operates on a special schedule. IRB applications will be accepted on an ad hoc basis, and meetings will be scheduled to accommodate the volume of applications received.


How to Access the CITI Course

Visit for step-to-step instructions on how to register for the CITI course as a new researcher.

2020-2021 IRB Members

The IRB consists of nine members: six elected full-time faculty, one ex-officio member, a community representative appointed by the IRB, and the Chair, who is the Director of Institutional Research and Academic Assessment. Of the six full-time faculty members, five are elected to specific terms representing the following disciplines: Business, Education, Ethics, Biology/Nursing/Nutrition, and Psychology/Sociology. A sixth full-time faculty member is elected at large.

The terms of office and their respective disciplines of the six faculty members are detailed below.

Faculty Members

  • Open (Business, 2019-2022)
  • Dr. Medea Valdez (Ethics, 2019-2022)
  • Dr. Valerie Scott (Psychology, Sociology, 2019-2022)
  • Dr. Marianne Dunn (General Member, 2018-2021)
  • Dr. Marie Boyle (Biology/Nursing/Nutrition, 2018-2021)
  • Dr. Keith Neigel (Education, 2019-2022)


  • Susan Lasker, M.D., Director of Heath Services, ex-officio

Community Member

  • Open, community representative


  • Dr. Michele Yurecko, Director of Institutional Research and Academic Assessment